Jun. 10th, 2006

hobbsie

Jun. 10th, 2006 12:26 pm
verbicide: (glum)
I took Hobbes to the vet today. He needed a checkup and a blood test. It's just so ...maddening. He's down a pound and his age has really started to show. He has definitely declined in the past six months. I always torture my poor vet by asking how much time I've got with him, and she's wonderful and always tries to answer as kindly and honestly as possible. It's looking like maybe a year if I'm lucky, but he could always suddenly rapidly decline.

He's about 17 years old now. He's got two major diseases (diabetes and asthma) and it's just taking its toll on him.

I'm trying to prepare myself as much as humanly possible, but I just can't bear the thought of losing him. But--I'm going to have to, because at some point--he's going to die. And if he's in miserable health and unhappy, I'm going to put him to sleep.

We had a long talk about dental care again. His teeth could use a cleaning, but with the diabetes, he's at a higher risk for dying on the table. And also, dental work is insanely expensive. I feel so defensive bringing that point up, because it makes me feel like I can put a dollar amount on how much I love my cat.

But realistically, he's a very old cat, his teeth don't seem to be causing him any apparent pain, and I'm doing the best I can, goddammit. I could do the dental work, and he could still be dead in 3 months, and that would be a colossal waste of money.

Dr. Henkle was very nice and went out of her way to say some very nice things about how well cared-for Hobbes is. And it really made me feel better, because well: DUH. Outside of age and some disease, he's in great shape. His temperature is great, his chest sounds great, he's happy, and just a delightful, loving animal.

We'll get the blood results back on Tuesday and see what the next step is.
verbicide: (Default)
The nine millionth, and not terribly original, rant you've read on stupid movie-going audiences:

Went to see Cars with Pete, and I can't believe how close I came to all-out hair-pulling. The horrid woman sitting next to me with her guy would not shut up. After being shushed, she stopped talking at FULL FUCKING VOLUME, but my GOD. Also, the movie was funny and I don't mind when people laugh obviously, but her full body seizures were a bit much. Gah. And she kept kicking me. So at one point I kicked back, to her surprise. She kept her feet to herself after that. I know, not the most mature move ever, but OH MY FUCKING GOD! Die, bitch, die! Have some fucking manners, and STFU!

Do these people not read articles about assholes-in-movie-theatres and how some of the decline of people seeing movies in theatres is because of such assholes? The articles are everywhere. How do they not recognize themselves for the social pariahs that they are?

Now, we went to go see a Saturday matinee of an animated movie, so I expected noisy kids, but I will never understand why people think it's okay to bring a screaming baby into a theatre. Kids were running loose, up and down the aisles. I actually felt pretty calm about all the chaos (if not the stupid ho sitting next to me), but it was a good reminder that it's worth it to wait to see these types of movies well after the kids are asleep.

Review for Cars )

After the movie, we walked to La Creperie Voila, which is just at the Convention Center. We got a savory (chevre, spinach, and red peppers) and a sweet (nutella, bananas, and whipped cream) and split each. They were phenomenal! Just like Paris, actually. It was wonderful!

So that was a lovely afternoon out. Tonight: a mini-Pixar marathon.

kitty!

Jun. 10th, 2006 07:19 pm
verbicide: (amused)
Hah!

Just click.

From [livejournal.com profile] rimrunner

Profile

verbicide: (Default)
verbicide

September 2013

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 03:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios